About State Science Day

A panoramic shot of State Science Day in 2017The Ohio Academy of Science will hosted the 71st Annual State Science Day on Saturday, May 11, 2019, at The Ohio State University.

State Science Day is the pinnacle of student originated, inquiry-based science education in Ohio, and is one of the largest science and engineering fairs in the country. Approximately 1,200 students in grades 5-12 competed for more than $500,000 in sponsored awards and scholarships.

State Science Day is made possible with the support from the Office of Distance Education and eLearning.

2019 Event Info

71st Annual State Science Day, hosted by The Ohio State University

Date: Saturday, May 11, 2019

Location: French Field House and St. John Arena -- Columbus, Ohio

Safety Tips:

  • Lock your doors and keep all valuables with you or locked up and out of sight at all times.
  • Pay attention to your surroundings! Park and walk in well-lit areas at night, and do not walk alone.
  • Call the police department if you need to report suspicious activity. Emergency phones (plainly marked pole with a blue light on top) are situated all over campus to contact the police.

Important Notice: 

Please check back for important announcements about traffic, parking, and local events that could affect your travel or stay in Columbus for the 2019 State Science Day.

Advertising Opportunities

Reach 4,000 potential students and families by advertising in the 71st Annual State Science Day program. Don't let your college or organization be left out of this opportunity.

The State Science Day program is 8.5in x 11in and vertical in its orientation. A variety of sizes in affordable advertisement space is available to fit your need and budget. 

 AD RateWidth x Height
Cover Advertisement (Full-Page Color)*$8007.5 x 10
Full-Page (Black & White)$6007.5 x 10
Half-Page (Black & White)$4007.5 x 4.75
Quarter-Page (Black & White)$2003.5 x 4.75

* Two (2) full-color cover ad spaces are available on a first come, first serve basis


Please submit a PDF of your advertisement to davis.3719@osu.edu, no later than Friday, March 15, 2019
Purchase Advertising Space

Additional Resources

STEM Scholars Competed for Nearly $500,000 at State Science Day 2018

On Saturday, May 12, more than1,100 students in grades 5-12 exhibited their science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) projects at the 70th annual State Science Day.

The students competing at State Science Day, advance to the state-level competition from 17 district science days held in March. 

Since 1949, local, district and State Science Day have comprised Ohio’s largest and most far reaching STEM education program with more the 75,000 students participating state-wide. Click here for a full 2018 recap.

For more information about State Science Day, visit The Ohio Academy of Science's website, call 614-488-2228 or email mwoytek@ohiosci.org.


*In 2002, The Ohio State University entered into an agreement to coordinate the event locally at no cost to the academy. The event was assigned to the Office of Continuing Education events management team, now part of the Office of Distance Education and eLearning. Coordination includes facilities, logistics, supplies, program design and printing, security, parking, and overall event support. The current agreement expires in 2020.